Innovation Union Scoreboard 2010

The Innovation Union Scoreboard 2010 is published; this new tool is meant to help monitor the implementation of the Europe 2020 flagship by providing a comparative assessment of the innovation performance of the EU27 Member States and the relative strengths and weaknesses of their research and innovation systems.

The 2010 Scoreboard draws on 25 research and innovation-related indicators and covers the 27 EU Member States, as well as Croatia, Serbia, Turkey, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

The Scoreboard places  Member States into the following four country groups:

  • Innovation leaders: Denmark, Finland, Germany, Sweden all show a performance well above that of the EU27 average.
  • Innovation followers: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Slovenia and the UK all show a performance close to that of the EU27 average.
  • Moderate innovators: The performance of Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and Spain is below that of the EU27 average.
  • Modest innovators: The performance of Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania and Romania is well below that of the EU27 average

The IUS 2010 includes innovation indicators and trend analyses for the EU27 Member
States, as well as for Croatia, Iceland, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia,
Norway, Serbia, Switzerland and Turkey. It also includes comparisons based on a more
reduced set of indicators between the EU27, the US, Japan and the BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries.

Business Sector

Relevant Files: 
Binary Data