1st Nanomedicine Award

The European Technology Platform for Nanomedicine (ETPN) and the EU-funded consortium, Nanomed2020, have launched the first ever Nanomedicine Award to honor the best international nanomedicine innovation for 2013.

The goal of the Award is to recognize innovative nanomedicine-based solutions that could help physicians change the way diseases are treated and diagnosed, bringing significant benefits to patients.

The Award is open to companies, academic and private researchers across the globe. Nominated projects should represent new diagnostic and therapeutic approaches that address unmet medical needs, are not feasible without nanotechnology, are clearly distinct from standard approaches and have an explicit defined potential market.

Projects will be evaluated on the basis of being either a concept or a preclinical or clinical application in nanotherapeutics, diagnostic or regenerative medicine. Applications will be reviewed and assessed by a panel of highly-qualified pharma industry specialists with experience in R&D and commercial roles: Laurent Levy, Nanobiotix; Neil Desai, Celgene; Mike Eaton, consultant; Patrick Tricoli, Sanofi; Karen Zinkevich-Peotti, Ipsen and Thorsten Melcher, Johnson & Johnson Innovation.

The Award is supported by the EBD Group, the leading partnering firm for the global life science industry, and Nanobiotix, a clinical-stage nanomedicine company pioneering novel approaches for the local treatment of cancer. The presentation of the Award will take place during the Nanomedicine Panel Discussion at BIO-Europe 2013 in Vienna, Austria, on 4th November 2013.

The winners will receive media coverage across Europe and gain visibility to EU decision makers from biotechnology, pharma, academia and finance. Winners will also benefit from a full registration (including partnering) for BIO-Europe 2013 and a 5 minute presentation slot at the Nanomedicine Panel Discussion during the event. In addition, the winning project will also be granted a 15 minute presentation slot during the CLINAM conference 2014 in Basel, Switzerland, along with 1 year’s free ETPN membership and two days consultation by the members of the ETPN Translational Advisory Board.
Entries for nominations for the Award will be open from 6th June to 7th September 2013. The application form is available online by clicking on this link nanomedicine-award.com.

For more information, please contact:
ETPN Secretariat, c/o VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH
Steinplatz 1, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Attention: Olivier Fontaine
phone: +49 (0)30 / 310078 -155


5 Jun 2013